An open letter

Dear Maternity Clothing Designers,

I am writing to ask you to reconsider one of your Summer 2011 design choices.  Please know that I appreciate your attempt to provide a stylish alternative to dowdy and/or childish maternity clothing.  However, I think you may not have thought through one of your designs very well.

I am 4.5 months pregnant and have a bit of a belly.  I am assured that I will continue to gain weight throughout my pregnancy and that the weight will not all be distributed in my belly and bust.  Some of it will undoubtedly settle on my thighs and butt.  Therefore, dear Maternity Clothing Designers, your contribution of itty bitty short shorts with a belly band is most unwelcome.  And given that, in every maternity section I go to, there are racks upon racks full of itty bitty short shorts, my fellow pregnant women agree with me.

Please put some capris and walking shorts on the market.  I think you will find they are better sellers than the itty bitty short shorts.

Sincerely,

Mrs Whatsit, Phd (+1)

3 thoughts on “An open letter

  1. I just have to wonder, what would our male colleagues be offered for ready-to-wear if they could and did get pregnant? Thanks for sharing hte great commentary here and best wishes with the +1 on the way.

Comments are closed.