Practice talk

My lab said my practice talk was very good.  And they wouldn’t just say that so I know that it was.  Plus they only suggested minor changes.  My lab spends a lot of time helping people with their talks.  After the practice talk, we go through every slide in the talk and people give their comments on what can be improved.  So, it took about 2 hours for me to give a talk and get feedback.

I’m so glad I came here ahead of time!  I feel more confident in my ability to talk science now that I’m immersed in that environment again.  In a lot of ways, it feels like coming home.  I spent 16 years in grad. school city with most of that time at the university either teching or in grad. school.  I have felt like a fish out of water in the suburbs of San Francisco.  So, this time has been good for me.

8 thoughts on “Practice talk

  1. Good luck on your defence! I have been reading your blog for a while, and your determination to finish grad school does impress me a lot!

  2. Awesome! Sounds like you’ll be great then!! I always thought the talk was tougher for my lab than for my committee. You’re going to do awesome! Can’t wait to hear about how it went! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Learn Acoustic Guitar Lessons And Move Your Listeners | Business Blog

  4. Pingback: Lawyers In Miami: A Few Facts About Legal Specialties | Legal Stuff

Comments are closed.