Gift for Advisor

I wanted to give something to my advisor to thank him for all of his years of putting up with my shit, not throwing me out when I had horrible depression, being such a great guy.  I decided to make this:

This very cleverly designed DNA scarf (notice the base pairing between the helices) seemed like the perfect gift.  I found it here.  It’s about halfway done.  It’s not the easiest pattern in the world, you really need to pay attention to what you are doing, but I think a fearless beginner could tackle it.

5 thoughts on “Gift for Advisor

  1. Nice! I like it on so many levels, since it is clearly DNA without screaming “I’m a science dork look at my scarf”
    I hope he loves it!

  2. I recently started following your blog and I just wanted to let you know that I really enjoy reading your posts. I hope you don’t mind me putting you on my blogroll. Reading about your doctoral journey gives me some insight since I’m still in the beginning of my PhD path.

    That DNA scarf is such an awesome gift idea! Your advisor would totally love it! Thanks for sharing this with us and let us know how he reacts when he gets this scarf. ^_^

  3. That is awesome… I haven’t knit anything for a while, but you have inspired me to tackle that pattern! What a perfect gift for an advisor.

  4. Great idea! I’ve seen the pattern before, making it for your advisor is (a) a sweet idea and (b) means that he must really be a great guy.

Comments are closed.