Knitting

Alyssa asked to see some of my knitting.  Well, I have a knitting blog I normally share that sort of thing with.  However, I don’t mind putting some of my recent projects up here.

Knitting is, well, it’s hard to describe with one word what knitting is for me.  I find it to be a big stress reliever.  I think it’s the rhythmic, repetitive motion that does it.  I also like that you can see the thing you are making take shape and I get a real sense of accomplishment from that.  This was important in lab when it seemed like all I did all day long was pipet clear liquid from one tube into another tube.  Now, that sense of accomplishment is important to me because I have no tangible evidence of what I do while writing.

Some people say that they don’t have the patience to knit, but I find that knitting gives me patience.  I can stand in the longest line ever, sit on the longest flight ever if I have my knitting to do during that time.  Knitting also helps me pay attention.  I found that knitting during seminars really helped me focus on what was being said in the seminar.  It seems a little counterintuitive, but it was like there was a part of my brain that needed to be kept busy with something for the rest of my brain to focus (otherwise, I would doodle, or fidget, or just space off).  I  even used to knit during lab meeting.  My advisor didn’t seem to have a problem with it, probably because I was still asking questions and making relevant observations and comments.

These days, knitting also provides some of the few social interactions that I have.  I have joined a knitting group that meets twice a week.  Without that knitting group, the only person I would talk to would be my husband.  And while I love him dearly, I need some other people to talk to every once in awhile, you know?

So, knitting is pretty important to me.  I didn’t get to do much of it while I was still working in lab (you know, beyond what I did at seminars and lab meeting) but I have lots more time for it here.  Here are a few of the things I’ve made recently, most of them presents for Christmas:

One of a pair of socks for my sister

One of a pair of socks for my mother

A toy for my nephew

Scarf for a charity project

More toys for nephew

Bag for bath gift set for SIL

Washcloth for gift set

4 thoughts on “Knitting

  1. I also find it important for me to do things that offer clear evidence of progress or accomplishment, so I can totally see how rewarding knitting can be. I love the things you’ve made!

  2. You said to leave you a comment if I intended to email, so it seemed to make sense to just communicate via this comment:

    Hi,
    My name is James Dunbar and I’ve written, illustrated and self-published a scientifically-accurate, rhyming comic book about the origin of the universe.

    It’s called BANG! The Universe Verse: Book 1 and it’s the first in a three part series that will go on to explain the origin of life and the evolution of humanity. It’s freely available to anyone who would like to see it or use it for science education and outreach. The entire thing can be viewed (in low resolution) on my website: JLDunbar.com, or I’d be happy to email a high res PDF if anyone would like one.

    I’d love to hear what you think of it, and I’d really appreciate any feedback, advice or assistance in reaching a wider audience. Would it be alright if I sent you the PDF version of the book?

    Thanks for you consideration!
    Jamie Dunbar

Comments are closed.