Blog Block

I’ve been suffering a little writer’s block lately when it comes to the blog.  As you might imagine, not being in lab eliminates most of the previous blog fodder.  So, I need to find other things to talk about, I suppose.  The thing is, this blog mostly has an identity as a “disgruntled grad student” blog.  Now that I’m not so much disgruntled (does that make me gruntled?) I’m not sure where this blog fits in my life and the blogging community at large.

This is almost certainly related to the fact that I don’t know where I fit in society anymore.  I don’t have a job.  I’m still technically a grad student but I’m not in classes or in lab or even on campus.  I’m writing my thesis, but slowly so as not to overwhelm myself and what does that really mean anyway?  I mean, I have a really bad feeling that if I got all gung ho and tried to work on my thesis more for than an hour on any one day, I might collapse into a depression.  Am I just paranoid or is this really a valid concern?  I don’t know.

So, posting may be light while I try to get a handle on things.  Maybe I should try something simple like twitter.  Surely, I could manage 140 characters or less on a semi-regular basis?

7 thoughts on “Blog Block

  1. It’s tough to blog when your life changes. I’d love to hear about what you’re doing in your free time – like what you’re up to in your knitting groups! Whatever you write about, I look forward to reading.

  2. I’m with Aylssa. Write about anything you are working on. If you aren’t working on your thesis 8 hours a day (and you shouldn’t be!) there has to be something else to talk about at least occasionally. We would like to know what you are doing!

  3. I’m with everyone else on wanting to know what’s going on in your life. Even if it’s just telling the rest of us what life is like without going into the lab all the time!

  4. Ha. Twitter is perfect for witty one-offs that you will later regret saying so publicly. Or maybe that is just My problem.

    I don’t know anything about blogging, I have mucho respecto for you all who seem to manage to find something to say on a semi-regular basis. It seems so stable.

    Still, overall, I’d say you need to give yourself permission to be. When you have a lot of free time, it is easy to spend a lot of it questioning and second-guessing yourself and your decisions. I think this is why so many people prefer to just stay busy all the time, it’s easier than facing the inner nag. The fact is, you got to where you are by working hard and a lot. You will always be someone who works hard and a lot, whether you like it or not, it is in your nature. So don’t blow your one year as an unstructured lay-about stressing out about the fact that you aren’t more busy.

  5. I have the same worry about my own thesis writing — if I burn myself out in one over-long session of work, will I scare myself away to the point that the thing will never get done and I’ll sit there in a funk, lost and jobless????

    I found that structuring my day helps a lot. It also helped that my advisor set some deadlines for draft pages to keep me accountable …

Comments are closed.