Back to the writing

Having found an apartment we could live with (or, rather, in) Husband and I headed back to the LA-area yesterday.  So, today I got back to the business of writing.  Right now I’m writing twice a day for half an hour.  So far, I’ve written a total of 6 hours since I started keeping track and have earned myself a sundae from Cold Stone Creamery.  Next reward comes at 10 hours when I get a new hardcover or two trade paperbacks or four mass-market paperbacks.

Having a couple of problems with registration and insurance at Grad School has reinforced my desire to get this damn thing done.  I don’t want to have to deal with the stupid university any more!  Who knows how many ways they can find to make my life complicated?  Best to graduate and be done with Grad School forever (except of course, from the annoying phone calls I’m sure to get from the alumni association).  It’s not the best reason in the world for getting my degree but I’ll take whatever gets me to sit down in front of the computer.

3 thoughts on “Back to the writing

  1. Dear mrswhatsit,

    congratulations on your perseverance, I’ve been reading your blog for the past months and I think you’re getting a lot of progress in setting up realistic, achievable goals to manage your thesis-writing.

    However I wonder why you set your rewards after a given number of _hours_ rather than concentrating on _results_? Wouldn’t it be more fair to reward yourself after you write, say, a paragraph, a section, a chapter? This 5/10/50 h thing doesn’t really give me an idea of how much you progress every time you reach a milestone.

    My two cents, only!
    Good luck and keep it up!

  2. There is something to be said for freedom. Once they give you the PhD, they can’t take it back. You could can do whatever you want with your life, you could sell snake oil on Oprah, and you are still:

    Dr. Whatsit, Expert

    It is a good feeling.

Comments are closed.