Reward Structure

In my last post, I talked about maybe setting up a reward structure for the number of hours I put into writing my thesis.  Here’s what I’m thinking right now:

  • any week I write on five days:  Baskin Robbins ice cream cone
  • 5 hours:  sundae at Cold Stone Creamery
  • 10 hours:  new hardcover book or two trade paperbacks or four regular paperbacks
  • 15 hours:  something from Paper Source (I’m a little bit of a stationery freak)
  • 20 hours:  something from Bath and Body works
  • 30 hours:  manicure and pedicure
  • 40 hours:  dinner at a nice restaurant
  • 50 hours:  something from Ann Taylor or other clothing store
  • 75 hours:  hair highlights
  • 100 hours:  massage
  • complete draft of lit. review:  afternoon tea
  • complete drafts of each of the other chapters:  dinner at a nice restaurant
  • paper submitted:  afternoon tea
  • thesis ready to hand to committee:  Kindle (I want one of these BAD)

This may change around a bit, especially when I start working on my thesis for more than 30 minutes at a time, but these are the goals I’m working toward right now.

7 thoughts on “Reward Structure

  1. Awesome. You should makes yourself a giant posterboard chart of these for your office. Just like in kindergarten. You could use actual, literal gold star stickers!

Comments are closed.