Easier today

This is my second day in my new “I Will Finish This Damn Thing” plan and it was definitely easier today to get through the entire 30 minutes than it was yesterday.  I’m starting a routine where I get ready for writing by clearing off my table, making myself a mug of tea and grabbing my little yeast stuffed-organism to sit by my computer and then get down to business.  So far, it’s working well for getting me in the mindset of writing.

I’m thinking about setting up some rewards for achieving certain goals.  Like at 20 hours of writing, I get a manicure/pedicure and 50 hours of writing I get a massage.  I need to think about it a bit more.

4 thoughts on “Easier today

  1. That’s great! Congrats! Do you have a timeline or goal of when you want to finish? My (unasked for) advice would be to maybe reward yourself a little more frequently. If you stick to 30 min a day, it’s going to be a while before you get that manicure! Maybe something smaller more often OR how about if you do 2x 30min in a day (not necessarily back to back) you get some reward?? Like… hmm… I don’t know! :o) sorry! But I do think you should reward yourself more to make this thing happen!

    Keep up the good work on it though! and thanks for keeping up posted on it. Hopefully the accountability is helping, at least a little.

  2. You should add more reward tiers – chocolate at 10 hours? Take yourself out for lunch after 30 hours?

    When I was in college working on my undergrad thesis, I used to purposely paint my nails late at night so I’d have to stay up and write to avoid both the smudged nails and getting behind on my deadline. Did it work? Hmmm….well, I had great looking nails, at least!

    I’ve just discovered your blog (I just started mine) so I have to catch up on the archives, but I do love your voice. Good luck with the thesis!

  3. I think that the effectiveness of rewards depends on the personality. From the reading I’ve done, there are two basic motivational modes: avoidant motivation and reward seeking motivation. The latter works in order to get a treat, the former works to avoid bad things from happening. I definitely tend to fall into the avoidant category, so rewards never work well on me. Instead, I tend to use treats for comfort. When I am doing badly, a treat might raise my spirits enough to get me back in the saddle.

    • You make a good point, yolio. In general, both forms of motivation work for me, but avoidant motivation works best (this NOT an invitation for more threats, CPP!). However, I think the reward system will give me encouragement and positive reinforcement as I go down this long road of thesis writing.

Comments are closed.