Nephews: Officially saved

Well, the baptisms are over.  Two baptisms in two days–it was a very holy weekend.  The first one was pretty casual–we did the baptism after Mass on Sat. night.  Nephew the 2nd (hereafter known as N2nd; his older brother is N1st) came through the ordeal all smiles–literally.  He just smiled and smiled and smiled through the entire thing.  The priest had a hard time keeping a straight face with all of that smiling; he looked like he was about to start laughing.  N3rd is a much more serious baby and he didn’t much care for the water being poured on his head.  He got through the water for the Father and the Son, but by the time the priest got to Holy Spirit, N3rd had had enough and started crying.  This is much more typical of the baptisms I’ve been to!  N3rd was wearing a baptismal gown that had originally been his great-grandfather’s.  It was over 90 years old and in pristine condition–really beautiful.

After N3rd’s baptism, there was a lunch at my brother’s in-laws’ house which was fun and it was great talking with family, but after a couple of hours of this, I was ready to go be by myself in the quiet for awhile.  Fortunately, I was able to keep it together until we left and then I took a nap back at Mom’s and felt much better.  I love visiting with my family, but what with the babies and my little cousins and aunts and uncles plus all of sister-in-law’s (sister’s-in-law?) family, it was a little too much for me.  I can stand being around that many people for a few hours and then I need to go somewhere quiet.

Today through Wed. there is more family stuff since the stars have aligned and me and my three siblings are all in Iowa at the same time.  Wed., we are going up to see my grandmother and then I am staying there until I go back to CA Friday afternoon.  That’ll give me a chance to wind down before I go back.

5 thoughts on “Nephews: Officially saved

  1. Congrats on the saving business. :o)

    I’m from Iowa too, and I also have three siblings. :o)

    Have fun with your family and don’t let them drive you batty!

  2. Family stuff is always a bit stressful. It sounds like the baptisms were lovely. I’ve never been to a baby one where the baby in question didn’t cry during the water bit. N2nd must be a rather remarkable baby!

Comments are closed.