“Permission to write”

After a fairly nice meeting in which nobody questioned whether or not I faked my data, my thesis committee gave me “permission to write,” which means that they think that I’ve done enough for a PhD and deserve to graduate.  You can’t schedule your defense here until your committee has given you permission to write.  I think this is one of the reasons that so few people have problems at their defense here.  Your committee has to formally agree that you’re ready before you can even think about scheduling your defense.

So, that is now out of the way and I will put in a call to my second cousin Luigi and let him know that I won’t need help moving that centrifuge after all.

w00t!!

14 thoughts on ““Permission to write”

  1. Great news! Our program is the same way. No one ever fails their defense, though sometimes they have to finish up a last couple of things before they’re allowed to actually to graduate.

  2. Congrats! Also, I saw this song. The first line made me think of you. 🙂

    Though the rest of it appears to mean nothing in particular.

  3. Congratulations!!!!

    I’m new to reading your blog. I just found it a couple of weeks and have read the entire thing in the last week. let me just say that you are awesome!

    I know this comment probably doesn’t belong on this particular post but thank you so much for sharing your experience with depression. I am also a senior graduate student at a Big University who gets too little sunlight from spending 14 hours a day in a lab with no windows, spends almost all my non-lab time alone, suffers from depression, sees a psychiatrist, and apparently is a victim of Imposter syndrome (didn’t even know there was such a thing till I read your blog).

    It REALLY helps to know that there is someone else out there who has had these same problems. So Thanks 🙂

    Good luck with your thesis.

Comments are closed.