Gearing up

I have donned my armor.  In my case, this consists of a charm bracelet full of charms given to me by Husband, a bracelet I bought while on a trip with my mom and stepfather (if my committee gets mean, I have the intention of holding up my wrists to repel the assault a la Wonder Woman and her wrist cuffs), a necklace of my grandmother’s that she  gave me, pearl earrings given to me by my mother-in-law for college graduation that I wore on my wedding day, and the cameo brooch/pendant that I got as an early birthday present from mom and stepfather.  I have dressed up slightly so as to feel superior to the sloppily dressed faculty.  I wish I could say I am wearing some smoking hot shoes, but they are just little ballet flats that are comfortable (which is probably the most important quality today, anyway).

I’ve gone over my data eleventy billion times.  I’ve marshalled all of my arguments.  I’ve practiced my laser pointing.  I have my ativan.

Currently, I’m attempting to channel Dr. Isis and reassuring myself that I have done some hot, hot science, that I have a fantastic presentation, that I am smart and know way, way more about my research than my committee could ever hope to know.  And, if, after my presentation, my committee is not convinced of the brilliance of my research then they are dumbasses who don’t deserve to be faculty at Prestigious University and I will fart in the their general direction.

So, there!

2 thoughts on “Gearing up

  1. You’ll be FINE!!!! Your committee would not have allowed you to defend if they didn’t think you were all set to pass with flying colors.

    BTW, here’s a cautionary story. One of my fellow grad students did a great job on his thesis, and his public defense. During the private grilling by his committee, one of the members said something along the lines of, “Wouldn’t such and such experiment be really cool?”

    The *only* correct answer to such a question, is “What a great idea! Yes, that would be really cool as a topic for future research in this area of inquiry!” Well, my dumbass fellow grad student argued strenuously that it was *not* a good idea. Whoops!

    Guess what experiment he spent the next six months doing, instead of graduating when he thought he was going to?

Comments are closed.