In which L is off the hook

So, I tested the spores from the previous tetrad dissection, and, fortunately for everyone involved, I have the strains.  I thought for sure L would have to do more dissections for one of the strains because of the low spore viability inherent in that strain but apparently the universe decided not to screw me over this time.  Nobody is more surprised than me.

About the committee meeting:

CPP said,

Not being able to schedule a two-hour meeting with less than one month notice is not unreasonable for busy faculty members, and it was not great planning on your part to wait until only about 6 weeks before the submission deadline to start planning the required “go–no-go” committee meeting.

I will concede this point.  Generally speaking, committee meetings are notoriously difficult to schedule for this reason.  And, some faculty are much more difficult to schedule than others.  Which was why I fully expected Dr. Committee Chair who has a very large lab, is on countless thesis committees and is very frequently out of town, to tell me there was no way in hell that she could schedule a meeting until late April/early May (thus missing the deadline).  So, when she was miraculously free for most of the dates and times I suggested, and Dr. Crazy Yeast Geneticist (also with a big lab and a department chair; who, incidentally, was the guy who accused me of unethical conduct with a western blot* at my last meeting) was also free for most of the dates and times I suggested, I was thrilled beyond measure.  I did NOT expect to be thwarted by Dr. Problem (though perhaps I should have, given my past experience with him) who has a very small lab, is not so popular for thesis committees and rarely goes out of town.  That was the main source of my frustration.

But, what do I know?  Perhaps Dr. Problem is on ten different University committees that I don’t know about that meet twice a week or he volunteers to bring food to the elderly or tutors children for an after school program or something equally important and time-consuming.  I would be willing to bet large sums of money against it, but it’s possible.  But, I have decided to not let it bother me because it seems that one of Dr. Problem’s students, D, is also trying to schedule a committee meeting and Dr. Problem has told her he will not be able to schedule her meeting until after April 27th.  And, if he can’t find two hours to spare for his own student, I would not expect him to be able to find two hours to spare for me.  Ironically, Advisor is on D’s thesis committee and has told her that he can’t schedule her meeting until he knows when mine will be (not, I think, to get back at Dr. Problem or to force him into scheduling my meeting but rather because Advisor is giving me priority in terms of his schedule).  D and I have swapped our advisors’ post April 27th schedules and are coordinating our scheduling efforts.

Btw, one of the reasons I’ve been putting off this meeting is because I wanted to have the results of Last Experiment Ever before the meeting.  The other reason is because I’m Not Right in the Head.  Well, after coming back from my mental health break, Advisor told me to schedule the meeting as soon as possible and if I didn’t have Last Result, oh well.  But, unless something goes terribly, terribly wrong (and I don’t think for a second that I can count on everything going smoothly because the Lab Fates severely punish that sort of optimistic thinking), I will have the result by my committee meeting since it will probably be in May.**  With any luck, I will also be Right in the Head by then (or, you know, at least as Right in the Head as any person in my position can be).

So, the bottom line is, it will probably work out okay (even though there is no way in the world I can graduate this quarter).  I may even forgive Dr. Problem for the crime of being unavailable.

Maybe.

*This experiment has been completely redone, by the way, and I think this guy will be very happy with the way I am presenting the new blot.  I hope.  If he isn’t, I’ll send him the file and he can make the figure his own damn self.

**May is going to be a very busy month.  There’s the thesis defense of another member of the lab, my wedding anniversary, my brother’s birthday, Mother’s Day, my birthday and my other brother’s baby is due.  And, I have to pack all my stuff and ship it across the country.

