Conversation with the boss

Today, I went  into my advisor’s office, sat  down and said, “I’ve never written a  paper before, I have no idea what I’m doing.”  Then, I handed him the image, figure legend, and results section for figure 1 and asked him to look them over.  The verdict?  Well, some of what I have in the results could go in the intro and he doesn’t like it when you use the word “this” without something following it (ie “To do this, we…” is bad) but otherwise, it looks “fine.”

I may be able to do this thesis thing after  all.

3 thoughts on “Conversation with the boss

  1. Awesome! It helped for me to just force myself to get words down on paper (er, on the screen) every day. Set a goal: 250, 500, whatever. The key is not to critique the words as they are written. Horrible words that you will have to rework later still count toward your goal! (and I found later it was much easier to revise and everything) Just having something written made it much easier mentally. Oh yeah, and some of what you think is crap might be totally usable or your adviser might give you an easy idea of how to fix it or something.

    Good luck! You are almost there!!!!

  2. [H]e doesn’t like it when you use the word “this” without something following it (ie “To do this, we…” is bad)

    Yeah, it is fucking horrible. I’m sure the paper will end up very well-written.

  3. Pingback: Sheer idiocy « I Love Science, Really

Comments are closed.