Moving forward

So, my experiment has gotten to a place where, while not ideal, is manageable and I can get some data from it so I’m moving forward.  I should be ecstatic about it, but instead, I feel as if I failed somehow.  I cannot get the thing working at its former glory and I’m not sure I’d ever be able to no matter how long I worked at it.  So, there really isn’t any option except to move forward with what I have.

I guess, I feel like I’m putting something out there that is subpar.  Logically, I know that’s not the case.  The data is good and the conclusions are sound.  But, the pictures are not pretty because the staining is not pretty.  I may never publish another paper again, depending on my ultimate career path, and I want it to be the best that it can be.  I don’t want to show crappy pictures, I want to show beautiful ones.  But, crappy pictures is all I’ve got and all I’m ever going to get and frankly if I can’t make this experiment look more beautiful then nobody can.

But I just can’t be happy about it.

One thought on “Moving forward

  1. I am de-lurking to say that I completely identify with this sentiment…. My expectations are always higher than the results I can achieve and it is hard to be “content” with what is “enough”. Sometimes I feel that everything I do is sub-par.

Comments are closed.