You can tell our Pasadena apt is 2 blocks from Caltech

Because there were two copies of Physics Today on top of the mailboxes and neither one of them belonged to my husband.

I think I will make sure to subscribe to Cell or something to make sure I don’t drown in physical sciences when I live there permanently.

In other news, my husband had to get an MRI for the severe headaches he’s been getting (probably migraines).  He was extremely nervous about it having already had to cancel one appointment due to panic attacks (he’s never had panic attacks before).  So, naturally, when we go to the office to get the test done, he doesn’t bring a thing to do while we wait.  Finally, I made up several geometry problems and and the following word problem:

What’s the smallest number of children would we have to have in order for their combined ages to be 2/3 of our combined ages in 20 years?  The ages of the children must be two years apart.

He was happier than a pig in mud doing those math problems.  He’s the only person I know who can be calmed down by math.

And now I’m back in GradSchoolTown.  Sigh.

P.S.  The answer to the problem is slightly over 4 children.  So, four children and pregnant with the fifth.  We are sooooo not having four or five children.  Two will be plenty, thank you very much.

4 thoughts on “You can tell our Pasadena apt is 2 blocks from Caltech

  1. physics today is sent to every member of the american geophysical union. Even if you request it not be so. I’m afraid I have recycled more than my fair share of unread physics todays.

  2. I survived sooo much 7th grade angst by factoring polynomials! Once you’ve lived 2 blocks away from Caltech for a little while this sort of thing will no longer seem strange. Srsly.

  3. i used to find it very silly that we got two copies of Physics Today (one for me and one for husband), you would think they could have some sort of filter such that they dont send two to the same home.

Comments are closed.