At Year’s End

Dear 2007,

Well, our relationship has come to an end. I gotta admit, I’ve been thinking like maybe that’s a good thing. Certainly I haven’t gotten everything I wanted out of our time together. Probably the biggest disappointment was that I didn’t get my PhD. I really thought that you would be the one, 2007. The year in which I graduate and finally get to put those two little letters in front of my name–Dr. Whatsit. But I guess it was not to be.

A lot of good things happened in my personal life, though. My brother got married. My sister had a baby (the first grandchild in my family). And, because I had NOT graduated, it was a lot easier for me to be in Iowa for any number of things. I got to go to my sister-in-law’s bridal shower. I was in Iowa the day after my little nephew was born. And it was a lot easier for me to attend his baptism. Which brings me to another great thing, I’m a godmother! I’m still waiting for my fairy powers to show up, though. I think they may have been delayed in the mail due to all of the holiday packages the post office has to deal with (note: must write a letter to the fairy agency telling them to use FedEx in the future).

I read a lot of books this year. More than I thought I would. But it wasn’t a very good year for my favorite authors, two of whom died (Madeleine L’Engle and Robert Jordan) and one who has been diagnosed with a rare form of early onset Alzheimer’s disease (Terry Pratchett). Therefore, I’m never going to declare an author one of my favorites again. I don’t want to be responsible for another tragedy.

Professionally, well, I’ve already mentioned I didn’t graduate. And I ran into a huge lab plasmid debacle which caused much wailing and gnashing of teeth. And I got Result Fish. Still, overall, I have made progress. At least, that’s what I keep saying to myself.

I also started this blog. I have no idea if I should include that in professional or personal. A little of both, I think. I’ve contributed to a couple of Scientiae carnivals and that’s been a lot of fun. I’ve “met” people online through blogging. I started reading ScienceBlogs. All of these have been good things.

So, on the whole, I guess we’ve had a pretty good time together, 2007. Still, I’m glad that our time is over and I’m looking forward to moving on to 2008.

Sincerely,

Mrs Whatsit

2 thoughts on “At Year’s End

  1. Pingback: hdreioplus.de » January Scientiae Party

  2. Pingback: January Scientiae Party | Loveletters

Comments are closed.