The next one up is….

 The Eight Things Meme

I’ve only got one more to go after this one.  It’s the Pharyngula Mutating Genre Meme and (as in real life) I’m waiting a bit before having progeny.

8 passions

  1. My husband
  2. Education (science education in particular)
  3. Science
  4. Reading
  5. Knitting
  6. Family
  7. Friends
  8. Chocolate

8 things to do before I die

  1. Live abroad
  2. Visit all of the continents
  3. Read Anna Karenina (I hear it’s a really good book, but the size of the book is daunting)
  4. Have children
  5. Get my PhD
  6. Knit a Fair Isle sweater
  7. Learn how to ride a horse
  8. Learn how to play the piano

8 things I often say

  1. “I have no idea.”
  2. “Let me just finish this row.” (While knitting.)
  3. “Quite frankly, ….”
  4. “[X] is sucking my will to live.”
  5. “Dumbass.” (Often to myself when I have made a very stupid mistake.)
  6. “I’m trying to make you famous!” (To the yeast when they refuse to transform the DNA I need them to transform.)
  7. “I’m going to the scope.”
  8. “Wanna go get tea?” (I hate coffee.)

8 books I recently read

This sort of coincides with my post about the books I read this year, but I’ll list the ones I read most recently.

  1. Making Money, Terry Pratchett
  2. The Truth, Terry Pratchett
  3. The Demon Under the Microscope, Thomas Hager
  4. She’s Such a Geek! ed. Annalee Newitz and Charlie Anders
  5. Stephanie Pearl-McPhee Casts Off: The Yarn Harlot’s Guide to the Land of Knitting, Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
  6. Stardust, Neil Gaiman
  7. Crazy Aunt Purl’s Drunk, Divorced and Covered in Cat Hair, Laurie Perry
  8. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, J.K. Rowling

8 songs that mean something to me

I had started this post about songs titles that typified my graduate school experience, so I’ll list those.

  1. He Had it Comin’ (from the musical Chicago only insert advisor for husband)
  2. Another Brick in the Wall (of course)
  3. We’re Not Gonna Take It
  4. Janey’s Got a Gun
  5. Closer to Fine
  6. I Go to Extremes
  7. Under Pressure
  8. Take This Job and Shove It

8 qualities I look for in a friend

  1. Compassion
  2. Intelligence
  3. Honesty
  4. Loyalty
  5. A sense of humor
  6. Tolerance
  7. Shared interests
  8. Good listener

8 people who’s blogs I enjoy and who may consider themselves tagged if they wish

I don’t want to get on people’s nerves about the meme-thing, so I will just list some blogs that I read which were not on the “tagged” list of the blogs from the other meme.

  1. Thus Spake Zuska, Zuska
  2.  Second Sight, Rob Knop
  3. Living the Scientific Life, (Scientist, Interupted), GrrlScientist
  4. On Being a Scientist and a Woman, ScienceWoman
  5. A Blog Around the Clock, Coturnix
  6. The Happy Scientist, ecogeofemme
  7. A K8, a Cat, a Mission, Kate
  8. The Daily Transcript, Alex Palazzo

Possibly, I could have saved myself some time and just put ScienceBlogs.

4 thoughts on “The next one up is….

  1. I love your comments to your yeast! Do they tend to respond?

    Here are two actual conversations with cultured cells that I overheard in my old lab’s core facility:

    1) “I’m going to put you in a lovely clean new flask with some lovely medium that I’ve warmed up for you, and then I’m going to put you in a nice warm incubator. Please please please keep growing”.

    or

    2) “If you behave, I’ll put some bleach tablets in at the end of the experiment to kill you quickly. If you don’t behave, I’m going to just leave the flask out of the incubator for a few days and you will die a slow painful death”.

  2. ohh, i have “Lab is sucking my will to live” as a saved message for my google talk.

    I also always tell my rotation students that cells like to be talked to, and if you sing to them, they really really like it. I hum ‘I will survive’ occasionally to ones that I think aren’t going to make it.

Comments are closed.