Books

Over at ScienceBlogs, Laelaps has asked what people have read this year. I started thinking about this and realized my list was too long to put in the comments, so I’m going to post them here, in no particular order.

First-time reads:

  1. Making Money, Terry Pratchett (audio)
  2. The Demon Under the Microscope, Thomas Hagan (audio)
  3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, J.K. Rowling
  4. A Game of Thrones, George RR Martin (audio)
  5. A Clash of Kings, George RR Martin (audio)
  6. A Storm of Swords, George RR Martin (audio)
  7. A Feast for Crows, George RR Martin (audio)
  8. Stardust, Neil Gaiman
  9. Opening Skinner’s Box: Great Psychological Experiments of the Twentieth Century, Lauren Slater
  10. Full Frontal Feminism: A Young Woman’s Guide to Why Feminism Matters, Jessica Valenti
  11. The Cup of the World, John Dickenson (audio)
  12. The Widow and the King, John Dickinson (audio)
  13. Master of Dragons, Margaret Weiss (audio)
  14. The Dragon’s Son, Margaret Weiss (audio)
  15. Crazy Aunt Purl’s Drunk, Divorced and Covered in Cat Hair, Laurie Perry
  16. Stephanie Pearl-McPhee Casts Off: The Yarn Harlot’s Guide to the Land of Knitting, Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
  17. Misquoting Jesus:  The Story Behind Who Changed the Bible and Why, Bart D. Ehrman
  18. She’s Such a Geek! ed. Annalee Newitz and Charlie Anders
  19. I Had Brain Surgery.  What’s Your Excuse? Suzy Becker
  20. The Great Snape Debate : The Case for Snapes Guilt/Innocence, Amy Berner and Orson Scott Card

Re-reads:

  1. Thud, Terry Pratchett (audio)
  2. The Truth, Terry Pratchett (audio)
  3. Monsterous Regiment, Terry Pratchett (audio)
  4. The Fifth Elephant, Terry Pratchett (audio)
  5. An Assembly Such as This: A Novel of Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman, Pamela Aidan
  6. Duty and Desire: A Novel of Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman, Pamela Aidan
  7. These Three Remain: A Novel of Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman, Pamela Aidan
  8. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen
  9. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, J.K. Rowling

Currently:

  1. The Varieties of Scientific Experience: A Personal View of the Search for God, Carl Sagan
  2. The Golden Compass, Philip Pullman (audio)

I think it’s pretty obvious I’m a fan of:  fantasy fiction, Jane Austen, Terry Pratchett, and Harry Potter.  The non-fiction is sort of all over the map.  I also like to listen to audio books while I knit.  Or on the plane to California.  Or while doing the dishes.

Looking at this list, I realize that I read a lot more than I thought I did.  I am always bemoaning the fact that I have no time to read, but I still have managed to read approximately one book every two weeks.  This is much, much less that the amount I used to read before grad. school.  So much less that I honestly feel deprived.  I’m looking forward to catching up on my reading  when I take a break after I graduate.

What have you read this year?

2 thoughts on “Books

  1. I’ve read very little. It’s pathetic, really. I only read on planes…how sad is that?

    I think perhaps switching to audio might help me a lot! I spend 30-45 minutes per day on the bus, but if I read I’ll barf. If I put some books on my iPod that might work….

  2. Pingback: At Year’s End « I Love Science, Really

Comments are closed.