Switching Brain On

I’m having one of Those Days.  There are many types of Those Days.  This is type IV.b:  a day in which you are suffering from the fact that you seemed to have been missing your brain yesterday.

On my list of things to do today:

  1. Start cultures from patches of bacterial cells
  2. Make patches from yeast streaks
  3. Sporulate yeast cultures

Why I will not be doing these things:

  1. Left plate on my bench overnight instead of putting it into the incubator
  2. Ditto
  3. “Grew”  cultures in the wrong media (“Grew” because, in fact, nothing grew)

Fortunately, I have many other things to do today, but I am now a day behind on those other things.  I can’t really afford to have days where my brain is not plugged in, but when you’re dealing with Major Burnout being brainless is sometimes a fact of life.  On the whole, it could have been much worse.  I could’ve contaminated the whole lab with radioactivity or something, right?  Or perhaps spilled the protein I just spent days purifying or similar.  Of course, I wasn’t doing either of those things yesterday (and that’s probably a good thing).

One thought on “Switching Brain On

  1. I think everyone has days like that. And it seems the more I ‘need’ to get done, and the ‘faster’ I need to get it done, the more my brain tends to go into overload and shutdown.

Comments are closed.