I’m going

I decided to go to ScienceOnline 2010.  If any of you out there are going, send me an email at:  mrswhatsit.loves.science [at] gmail [dot] com (with the appropriate symbols replacing the words in the brackets.  I’m going under my real name and in an unfortunate twist of fate, someone who knows me in real life will also be there.  So, if you contact me and I contact you and we agree to meet up at the conference, you have to agree to not call me by my pseudonym and to not reveal my identity.

I am still a little freaked about going to the conference.  The money situation has gotten better, but I am still very anxiety-prone and going to this conference is tripping all of my triggers.  Would be nice to know some supporters there.

8 thoughts on “I’m going

  1. Yay, you made the right decision. I wish I had magic words to convince you to stop freaking out, but sadly I’ve got nothing. I guess, if you weren’t worrying about this you’d be worrying about something else. At least this way you get to go to some parties. I don’t think there is much likelihood of you being outed against your will. I am sure that folks at a blogging conference relatively savvy about pseudoanonymity etiquette. If they aren’t, you should just tell them that you are FSP. ;-) Actually, that would be totally awesome.

  2. Good for you! I’m trying to decide whether to go to a conference myself … exPENsive (the excuse) and I am so bad at networking face-to-face (the real reason I’m totally intimidated). Maybe you’ll have words of wisdom for me on how to manage the whole experience when you get back ;). Just know you’ve got people thinking of you while you’re out there! You won’t be alone.

Leave a Reply

